The Webcam

October 26, 2006

I walked into the server room at work yesterday and was going about my normal business when I discovered something unexpected – a webcam.  No one told me about this!

Our boss had recently bought a very expensive webcam and now, without warning, it was pointing at the door watching everyone who was going in and out.  Very disconcerting.

So, we knew this outrage could not go on without some kind of action.  But what?

Well I’ve seen a few too many bank raid movies in my time so it was pretty obvious.  We needed to put a picture of the door in front of the webcam.

We logged into the cam, took a screen shot of what it was displaying, printed it on our top notch colour printer and then with some careful adjustment we were able to make it look like everything was normal.  Here it is:

Here’s the setup.  The photo is attached to a box with paperclips.  The webcam is the small white box on a grey stand.  It’s sitting on some really old hard disks to give it the right height.

And here’s the view from the webcam.  Pretty good eh?
6 Responses to “The Webcam”

  1. taz Says:

    omg, I love it. What will they do when he/she finds out, I wonder? Will they face the group demanding to know who rigged their secret spycam? Or will they never mention a thing, and the cam will disappear as suddenly and quietly as it arrived? Hilarious and perfect. This made my day.

  2. jean Says:

    [c’est top]

  3. deborah Says:

    Ha! Has he figured it out yet?

  4. dodgygeezer Says:

    I think it's time for a quick update:He saw the setup, laughed very loudly and then shouted across the office at me (in his thick Swedish accent) "You're a very naughty person!"Heh heh.


Leave a Reply

